Tags

, , , , ,

I’m gratified that people are engaged in studying A World Worth Saving, and I’m surprised by some early reactions. One of the follow-up exercises to the first chapter asks that people read or watch the news. An eventual question asks readers to consider where God is in the news stories.

So far I’ve heard three types of responses:

  1. I’ve never had a devotional or study book tell me to watch the news and I’m curious to see how this plays out.
  2. I don’t normally pay attention to the news so you’re stretching me with this sort of exercise.
  3. This is harder than I thought because I watch the news every day and I can’t imagine how or where God is present in the stories I see.

How about you? When you read or watch the news, how do you see God in the midst of those stories? Is God present in Syria or Ukraine or in the deliberations of the United States Senate or in any of the other stories presented? How do you perceive God in the midst of conflict or disaster?

This search takes time. While we struggle to find God in the midst of the news, we can continue our own affirmations of faith and hope and love. My friend Debra K. Farrington published a little book about ten years ago titled Unceasing Prayer: A Beginner’s Guide. She includes a number of situations we all face and offers a biblically-based prayer of response. Here is one of those prayers:

When Reading or Watching the News
Your eyes, my God,
are in every place,
keeping watch on the evil
and the good. (from Proverbs 15:3)

I hope that you’ll continue to watch the news and to look for God’s presence in the midst of the coverage.

