Tags

, , , ,

Every day.

Yes, I’m still writing. I haven’t posted anything on the blog in long weeks or a month of Sundays or in the time it takes to parse the intentions of James Joyce in Ulysses or however you or I wish to measure time, but I’m still writing. Publishing some work here and there, but nothing close to the four books written and published since 2011. Between those publications, my other work, and some heart-health matters, recovery and returning to normal health has been my focus. Now I am finding energy again for a large project.

Still writing? Take away the question mark and that is the title of Dani Shapiro’s delightful book on the creative life—Still Writing. Published in 2013. I’ve come to this book a little late, but at the right time. Shapiro’s reflections on many different facets of writing seem on target. And though the book focuses on writing, Shapiro tells us portions of her own life in such a way that we may all learn about this matter of using our gifts in daily life.

I especially appreciate Shapiro’s essential understanding of discipline and practice. I connect that understanding with what I wrote about the practice of music and spirituality in Three Prayers You’ll Want to Pray. Yes, that’s a plug–available from all the usual booksellers, including Powell’s City of Books http://bit.ly/1U3Oob3

 

Still Writing: The Perils and Pleasures of a Creative Life, by Dani Shapiro. Grove Press, 2013. See also http://danishapiro.com/

