Tags

, , , , , , ,

“You ever find yourself wondering what you remember and what you don’t remember?” asked Peach Thomas while she waited at the counter for me to pour her coffee.

“Yeah, I do. Today is August 5 and I remember Sunday, August 5, 1962. Funny odd thing to remember. My mother, my younger brother, and I were visiting my grandparents in Philadelphia. That was always fun. So different from my hometown! They lived in an apartment over their dry cleaning and tailor shop on West 52nd. That leads to other stories for another day. My grandmother was making waffles in a pre-WWII waffle iron. Grandpop came up the stairs from the corner newsstand and announced, ‘My girlfriend died.’ He waited and got the reaction he wanted and then said, ‘They found Marilyn Monroe dead.’”

“Interesting story. Thanks for the coffee. It’s always too hot. 1962 is a long time ago. What did you do the next year on August 5?”

“I make Armenian coffee the right way. Sip it, don’t gulp. I don’t know about the next year. We were probably in Atlantic City or Boston then because back then we always went up the East Coast in the summer and visited family and friends. And that means Philadelphia, the Bronx, Atlantic City, and Boston.”

“But you don’t know for certain. Not like the day Marilyn Monroe died.That sort of proves my point.”

“No. I don’t have any markers for those other days. How hellish would it be if we were able to remember and recall every day in our lives!”

“But whenever you felt sad, you could visit one of those good days.”

“You do that now. Why would you want to remember every day? We’d bore ourselves with memories of boredom. Can you imagine remembering every moment of some boring high school class?”

“Now that I think about it, I’m not sure. Maybe remembering the good days is enough. How about wrapping half a dozen ma’moul cookies to go? This conversation seemed to go too deep for a Friday morning.”

“Ma’moul coming up! Good talk–you know we all have days we remember. Some are good and fun to remember. Some are sad and we need to remember them. That’s all that matters. Thanks for stopping here today. See you again!”

